Working As A Check-Out-Chick | One

Hey there,

So about eight months go, I got a job at Coles (a major supermarket in Australia) as a “Check-Out-Chick”. Now I love my job, don’t get me wrong. It pays well, and the girls I work with are great. But sometimes, there are these little incidents, which are normally hilarious. So this is the start of a little series called (wait for it…) “Being A Check-Out-Chick” (Shocker right?).


A few weeks ago, there was this woman (probably around her 50s) that came through, there was the usual “Hi, how are you?” and what not, then just before she’s about to pay she says “I like your face”. Now I don’t know about you, but that’s a little creepy to me. “I like your face”? Are you serious?! However it turns out she was complimenting me on my make-up (Not what I was expecting)…


Also, a few days later, another woman comes through with a trolley of food, and says “Your eyebrows are great!”. Keeping in mind I hadn’t done my eyebrows in about two weeks. I’m still not sure if she was being sarcastic or not, but either way, she’s crazy.


Lastly, I thought I would introduce you to ‘Crazy Claws’. So this man comes through once a week or more. He is over weight, has greasy hair, unkept beard and these finger nails that are so long they could be classed as talons, which are sharpened to points. He literally has claws on his hands. So the first time he came pass my checkout he asks “Are you a blue Sapphire, or a green one?”, obviously playing on the fact that my name tag says Sapphire. I explain that I am a “blue sapphire”, and he leaves. However, every single time he comes in now, he gasps, goes wide-eyed and says “You’re my blue sapphire.”, and before he leaves he says “You’re a very precious gem”. After he walks out of the store, he sits out the front for another hour and ‘reads his reciept’. This man is honestly the creepiest person I have ever met, and I’m sure you’ll here more about ‘Crazy Claws’ in the future.

Talk to you later,

Sapphire Xxx

© All Rights Reserved.
Leave a Reply

