Christmas Sprit?

Hey!

So everyone is getting ready for Christmas (YAY!). The shops have out decorations, the radio is playing carols, people are putting up lights. It’s great, I’m so excited. However, I can’t help but feel as though it takes over.

Christmas is kind of a universal thing. The twenty-fifth of December, Santa comes, Christ has a birthday, we get presents, we give presents. Most people celebrate it, but what for?

Originally it was just a Christian thing, celebrate the birth of Christ. But slowly it spread to less religious affair. Don’t get me wrong, it technically still belongs to christians, but people who don’t see themselves as religious, still celebrate.

But what about those who don’t celebrate Christmas (due to religious, or another reason)? They have to endure the social spirt in the lead up to Christmas. What with the decorations in shopping centres, and the retail workers wearing Christmas shirts and what not. I assume they have grown to be used to it, but how is it that Christmas, originally a Christian affair, is now universally recognised, when many other religions are not even known by name? It honestly blows my mind.

And whilst I may have been Christened as a baby, I’m not strictly stuck in Christianity. I’m naturally a very curious person, I love to explore, and learn new information. So when I hear of other religions, and the million other ways of life, I become intrigued. I believe, that when there are so many people in the world, all with varying ideas of what life is, and where we go afterwards, why should one close their eyes? If you think that your religion is worth starting a war, you need to have a very long conversation with your morals. Everyone has the right to religion, meaning they can choose what to believe in. They can believe in reincarnation, heaven, or anything else they want to. Heck, you could believe that nothing happens after you die, as many people do.

Anyways, I’m going to stop ranting now. Merry Christmas, to those who celebrate. Have a lovely December, and stay well to those who don’t. Talk to you soon,

Sapphire Xxx

© All Rights Reserved.
Leave a Reply

