Metaphors

Hey guys,

So I was driving to uni the other day, and a thought occurred to me the many metaphors in kids movies that relate to real world issues. So I thought today, I would put my thoughts into words, about ‘The Croods’ and ‘Zootopia’.


  1. The Croods. This was a Dreamworks movie that came out in 2013. In a short summary, this family of cavemen are fleeing the catastrophe caused by the earths pates shifting. A running theme throughout the movie is that they are trying to reach tomorrow. This rang some bells for me, as someone with anxiety, as it made me think about mental health. For many people who battle depression, this is a common goal – to just reach tomorrow. I also find that when I get stressed, and my anxiety is running a muck, with the apocalypse behind me, all I need to focus on is making it to tomorrow.

  2. Zootopia. A 2016 movie by Disney, it really touches on the topic of racism. When I saw this movie, it slapped me in the face with its undertone of worldly issues, with the predators and prey being on opposing sides to an argument. The film also could be taken as sexism, with the song dominating animals ruling the city, and the passive small animals being on the bottom – especially with the main chapter, a small town rabbit, who is the first ‘prey’ animal to be in the police force. Something else this movie touches on is stereotypes. The stereotype of a rabbit or a fox, being held over their heads in a judgement of them, rather than looking at their character or personality.

 

So I’ll leave it there for now, I’ll probably do more of these in the future, because there are just so many of them! But I’ll talk to you later,

Sapphire Xxx

© All Rights Reserved.
Leave a Reply

