Inspiration

Hey Guys,

So recently I’ve been taking lots of notes in my writing journal, and I realised just hoe easily I can get inspired. I go off on tangents, and start writing a short story or novel, but then when I come back to finish the piece after the moment of inspiration has past, I suddenly don’t feel the story anymore. It’s almost like writers block, but there are plenty of ideas up in my mind. I just don’t feel it anymore. It’s so hard to explain. It’s kind of like I think the original idea isn’t good enough anymore, it’s not worth it. I’m not really sure. But I have tens of unfitted stories sitting in documents on my laptop, in my journal, or in notes on my phone. I have snippets everywhere. Literally everywhere.

I love writing, but I over think it. It was drilled into me in high school that ‘structure is everything’, and ‘you need to plan everything before you write’.NO! That is not true! My creative writing lecturer this semester is turning out to be one of my favourites so far. He has said on a few occasions that just writing, and letting the writing take care of itself. You don’t need to know where it will end, or how. Just go for a ride. This, I think, is the best piece of advice for a young writer, in or just out of high school. Teachers in high school aren’t setting you up for life, they are setting you for your assessments, and exams. They want good grades, not good adults, or successful people. That’s not to say all teachers. God, there’s always that one who pushes you beyond your breaking point to help you. They are normally the best teachers. The ones that are that one student’s favourite. You all know the one.

Moral of this rant – You do you, let the writing take you on an adventure, and don’t hold back. I’ll talk to you later,

Sapphire Xxx

© All Rights Reserved.
Leave a Reply

