Me, Myself & I

Hey Guys,

So today I wanted to rant/chat about body image. We all know that everyone is different, and everyone is beautiful inside and out. Then there’s the saying only inside beauty matters, so everyone is beautiful (unless you’re a terrible person or something…).

But then there’s the media’s idea of beauty. It’s kind of split down the middle, half is people saying love yourself, you’re not perfect but who is? Then there’s the other half – skinny models are best, you need clear skin, perfect makeup, long legs, small waist, round bum, big boobs, flowing hair. You know what I mean?

Now, as someone who is both comfortable with my body, and understand that it could be better, I sit on the fence. I could have a tone stomach and a thigh gap, but I know that I don’t need that to be happy. I’m not insecure, and I’m not confident either. I have off days where big jumpers are my best friend, because they hide everything. Then other days, I’m all about those crop tops and high waisted shorts. I think instead of ‘you’re perfect with your flaws’ and ‘be perfect without them’ there should be a middle ground. There needs to be this idea of ‘I have flaws, and I may not like them. But I’m happy in my skin’. You know?

As someone with anxiety I understand that this is not an easy thing to achieve. Almost every day I deal with the constant thoughts of ‘they are talking about me’ and ‘they are laughing at me’. Someone could walk past me with their friend and laugh at a joke they just said, but without that context, my mind will always think the worst. I get that self acceptance isn’t easy, hell, sometimes I can’t bring myself to be happy in my skin. I don’t hate myself, but I think it’s okay to have days where you think ‘you know what, I’m not really feeling the confidence today…’. I’m not a confident person. I’m that person at Uni that sits alone, happy in my own company and people watching, writing in my writing journal.

I just feel like that middle ground needs to be recognised. You can have flaws, you can recognise that you’re not perfect, but you can still accept yourself, and your body. Instead of skinny and fat, it should be recognised as healthy, and unhealthy. Now, it’s very possible to be skinny and unhealthy, and be (I hate the word fat) ‘over weight’ and healthy. There’s factors like diabetes, heart problems, metabolism speed, and so on. So maybe, just maybe, the media should focus less on things like body image, and instead look at more important issues. Hell, we’re living World War III! There’s so much poverty in the world. Things like shootings – Yes, America, I’m looking at you. The last mass shooting we had in Australia was in 1996, which just so happens to be that the Firearms Act came into play that same year. But that’s a different rant.

Basically, no one’s perfect. You don’t always have to be happy with yourself, so long as by the end of the day you don’t feel the need to fit a certain idea. Be you, be proud. Be confident & be insecure. Balance is aways key. You can’t have one without the other. Anyways, I’ll talk to you later,

Sapphire Xxx

© All Rights Reserved.
Leave a Reply

