People Watching

Hey guys,

So for my Creative Writing course at uni, we’ve been doing a lot of work based around our own writing processes, and I thought today I would share one of the key tools I use: People watching.

People watching is honestly one of my favourite things to do. Taking note of peoples appearances and their attitude. It’s impossible to not get carried away. A key thought that runs through my head is always “How would I describe it to someone who is blind?”. I will write down their skin tone, their eye colour, hair colour, heigh, body type. Hair type, gender. Their posture and their clothes. What is my immediate thoughts of this person? What are their expressions like? Who are they talking to?

Now, I know that judging people based off of appearance isn’t a good thing, but I would like to say that I am not judging them. I’m not deciding whether or not I like them, or what type of person I think they are. I am simply describing them by appearance. But my interpretation of their looks will be very different to their own, and perhaps even to yours. But it’s things like this that create different writing styles.

When people watching, I enjoy writing down what the environment is like. Am I inside or outside. Is it hot, cold, windy? How am I sitting, what am I sitting on? Am I standing? Where in the room am I sat? The centre, the corner? Usually I like sitting out of the way, so I can write about what is happening without influencing it in anyway. It’s raw that way. It’s real.

I just find that watching and observing, is the best way to learn. Not necessarily about people or the setting, but even in life. I’m a very visual learner, so this doesn’t always work for everyone. But there is no harm in just taking a minute to watch the world rotate.

I’ll talk to you later,

Sapphire Xxx

© All Rights Reserved.
Leave a Reply

